I Saw Courtney Love Play “Violet” Last Night

And I wrote about it for the Village Voice. My only regret is that she did not play “Credit In The Straight World.” Celebrity Skin came out during my last year of intermediate school, when every cultural experience still left marks. And even though I could hardly bring myself to look at the cover of Ask For It, when I bought it that year at a second-hand record store in Christchurch, New Zealand, it still kind of changed my life. I don’t care how many times Courtney Love, with middling coherence, insults the blog I write for; I will never not know and love each and every word in “Northern Star.”

UPDATE 1: Courtney Love saw the review, and wrote a long response in the Voice comments section. It mentions Pynchon, “several  high end bythat i mean GOOD  psychiatrists” with whom she has experience, and split infinitives. It is an all-round highly entertaining read.

UPDATE 2: Courtney Love saw this post, too. Hi, Courtney.

Meanwhile, if you’d like to read something by Courtney Love that is long, precisely written, and well-argued, I recommend the transcript of a speech she once gave about the economics of the music industry, which Salon published as an essay in 2000. It’s still riveting.

One response to “I Saw Courtney Love Play “Violet” Last Night

  1. thats fine, but your “review” was ridiculous
    court ps dont get too terribly excited about it, i was bored , it was raining out, and you mentioned my skin and cellulite, i found it imperious, silly, trivialising, and in no way feminist.

Leave a Reply

